Congratulations to Viktor Hovland on winning the Dubai Desert Classic 2022! 

The Dubai Desert Classic attracts the biggest golf professionals, to come to Dubai and play the tournament year after year. 

The Dubai Desert Classic was born in 1989 when the European Tour visited the Middle East for the first time. The roll of honour includes seven different Major Champions. They are: Seve Ballesteros (1992), Ernie Els (1994, 02, 05), Fred Couples (1995), José Maria Olazábal (1998), Mark O'Meara (2004), Tiger Woods (2006, 08) and Rory McIlroy (2009, 15). Between them they have won 32 Major Championships.

Promoted and organized by Golf in DUBAI and Emirates Golf Club, the tournament is fondly referred to as the 'Major of the Middle East,' because of the world-class field that it attracts every year and it being the longest running professional tour event in the region. 

Since 1989 the tournament has seen 24 different winners from 12 different nations. The 27th edition of the tournament in 2016, won by England's Danny Willett, boasted truly a 'Classic field' that comprised 89 European Tour winners, eight major champions with combined 15 titles, six European Tour number ones, 20 Ryder Cup players and nine former DDC champions and two of world's top six players. 

As well as carrying the distinction of being the culmination of the 'Middle East Swing', the tournament has also established itself as one of the leading tournaments on the European Tour schedule.